Music in Review – Thrice – Major/Minor

Piggy backing on my last post, I’ll begin with trying to ‘renovate’ my reasons for writing.

This particular blurb is meant to share one of my passions with you. I have never really found an outlet to express my love of music besides a dopey smile and my pointing to the blood running in rivulets out of my ears.

Music is an amazing gift. It is the archetype of expression. For me it is the denouement of the artistic world, the climax of creativity.   It could even be argued that music has caused most of the shifts in the visible culture of our world. Hip-Hop boasts its strong bass tones, intersecting polyrhythm’s and is synonymous with D0-rags, thick bling, and baggy jeans.

Rock N Roll on the other hand is the Darwin of music. Constantly changing and evolving. From the tight pants and big guitar (and bigger hair) of the 80’s to the grungy, dirty ripped jeans of the 90’s to the ‘THE’ name craze of the early 2000’s

One particular band that has kept my attention through the years (and for those of you that know me understand this is no small feat) has been the Post Hardcore quartet known as Thrice. They, similar to Darwin, have symbolized change. Their beginnings and journey as musicians brought them from high speed California punk to one of the faces and alleged creators of the hardcore sub-genre Screamo (and yes it is different than emo. Don’t judge me.) Eventually they have settled into the less explored regions of a more experimental post hardcore. But they have also elements reminiscent of folk, blues, and alternative.

Their new album, Major/Minor (hit stores 9/20) is a similar blend musically to what I’ve described above.  Earthy tones, bluesy crooning and emotional lyrical climaxes.

Dustin Kensrue, the lead vocalist and main songwriter for the band expresses his faith in Christ very articulately. Dustin’s ability to combine scripture with his own poetry to tell the story of the human condition and our relationship with Jesus is phenomenal. Capturing the essence of the Gospel, our innate need of something more, and the likes of our frailties. This is no easy feat when you consider what else has flooded to music market today, especially in the mainstream.

For those of you looking for shredding and dueling guitar, those days for Thrice have passed, according to Dustin. But for anyone looking for thoughtful and inspiring music that is true to the gospel, this album is most definitely worth the grab. Especially for only $10.

 ★★★★


Leave a comment